Calbayog City has about 157 barangays and they’re divided into three (3) districts, the Calabayog District, the Tinambacan District and the Oquendo District. Barangay Sigo which is a part of the third district, is where Ton-ok Falls is located.

Ton-ok Falls is a scenic waterfall hidden in lush tropical vegetation, which nature has placed out of easy reach to preserve its beauty. It is a source of hydroelectric power.

How we got here:

From the Calabayog terminal, we took a tricycle that goes to Oquendo District or to Barangay Sigo. But before we did, we told the drivers we were headed to Ton-ok Falls so they could help us get the right ride. It took us about 45 minutes to Sigo.

Before we got there, we saw this sign post from the place the tricycle dropped us off. From here, we hiked for about 20 minutes to get to the falls. The path is cemented so the walk wasn’t that tiresome. Besides, I’m always up for it.

No automatic alt text available.

Image may contain: 1 person

These 3 little boys were our guides.☺

They just approached us and offered to help us get there.

On our way, we encountered this hanging bridge lying above a brown-colored river.It’s pretty high and I tell you, if you’re scared of heights, I suggest you don’t look down while walking. It’s what I did. Each step you take causes the bridge to move, but it’s really not that terrifying for first timers and fearful of heights, so don’t worry. ☺

Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling
almost there ☻

After the bridge, we had to walk a little more and then when we saw this, we already knew we were near …

No automatic alt text available.

So here we are … and this, the hydroelectric power plant. (I’m sorry for the bad angle. 😦 )

No automatic alt text available.

The Falls ♥

So after the hiking, it was time to chill.. which is my favorite part, actually! ♥

Image may contain: 1 person
I couldn’t go there.. so I’ll just sit here. Poor me. 😦
Image may contain: 1 person
He must be really tired. I’m sorry my dear. 😦
Image may contain: 3 people, people smiling
Well, we can’t leave this place without taking pictures. 🙂

It’s quite rocky, huh? Well, just wait till you see what it looks from up there. ☺

No automatic alt text available.
I’m getting ready! 🙂
No automatic alt text available.
Gosh .. What if I trip?!

So.. this is how you pose after swimming .. lol.  ^_^

No automatic alt text available.

Image may contain: 1 person
(Ugh .. pardon how I look here! haha xD)

But you see. There are small cottages behind me. You could take your friends there and have some food trip should you want.

Those local kids behind really enjoyed it as much as I did. ♥

Image may contain: 1 person
Figured out how it looks behind me, yet?

Cost of this trip:
I can’t really remember how much it was, but I’m sure it was less than P50 to get there from the City. However, if you have tour guides, like those 3 little boys with us, I hope you don’t forget to give them some money before you separate ways.

Entrance fee:

We didn’t pay because there was no caretaker around but one of the 3 kids said it was supposed to be P30.

No automatic alt text available.
“I’ll come back here, next time.”, in my thought ♥

A few people live in this area. So it’s pretty safe to go there.

To get back to the city, we just went back to the main road and caught a tricycle that goes to the City. ♥

2 thoughts on “Ton-ok Falls

Leave a Reply

